Since February, many of our faculty have received professional roles outside of GIM or recognition of excellent work.

In June, Dr. Tyler Albert received the 36th annual Paul B. Beeson Award. Assistant Professor Albert was chosen by the medicine residents in recognition of outstanding clinical teaching and for exemplifying scholarship, humility, compassion, and integrity. The award commemorates Dr. Paul Beeson, a distinguished physician at the Seattle VA in the 1970s, who was celebrated for his teaching skills.

Drs. Maralyssa Bann, Douglas Berger, Laura Buck, Anders Chen, Elizabeth Kaplan, Sylvia Mollerstrom, and Shobha Stack were all honored with WWAMI Pro Awards in April. This award is part of a medical-student-driven recognition program that was created to empower students to honor professionalism in the UWSOM community. The program is administered by the Committee for Continuous Professionalism Improvement. Twice a year, UW medical students can recognize any individual who contributes to a positive, respectful, and supportive learning environment. 

The annual Northwest Chapter of the Society for General Internal Medicine conference held in January elected Clinical Instructor Jessica Bender as Secretary/Treasurer.

Dr. Edward Boyko was selected as one of the chairs to lead the development and publication of the 10th edition of the International Diabetes Federation (IDF) Diabetes Atlas in 2021. As the 10th edition of the IDF Diabetes Atlas will be published next year to coincide with the 100th anniversary of the discovery of insulin, it will dedicate a section to the issues around access to insulin in different parts of the world.

Professor Paul Crane and Research Associate Professor Shubhabrata “Joey” Mukherjee were co-authors on a research paper that received a 2020 American Statistical Association (ASA) Outstanding Statistical Application Award. The article, “A statistical framework for cross-tissue transcriptome-wide association analysis,” was published Nature Genetics in 2019. Due to the quality and diversity of nominations received, the award committee opted to honor two papers this year instead of one. The ASA Outstanding Statistical Application Award was established in 1986 to recognize the authors of papers that demonstrate an outstanding application of statistics in any substantive field.

Effective July 1, 2020, Clinical Associate Professor Victoria Fang was appointed the Medical Director of Primary Care and Population Health for UW Neighborhood Clinics. Dr. Fang will also serve as the UW Neighborhood Clinic Trustee on the UW Physician Board of Trustees. 

Associate Medical Director of UWMC – Montlake and Associate Professor Christopher Kim was promoted from Assistant Editor up to Associate Editor for The Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient Safety

Clinical Assistant Professor Michael Krug is a 2020 Richard M. Tucker WWAMI Excellence in Teaching Award. Nominations come from students, residents, and faculty in Washington, Wyoming, Alaska, Montana, and Idaho. Established in 1998, the award recognizes enthusiasm and dedication in providing outstanding teaching and service to medical students. In 2009 the award was renamed to honor the late Dr. Richard Tucker, who was the Wenatchee site coordinator and served as an infectious diseases specialist and director for quality and education at the Wenatchee Valley Medical Center. Dr. Krug is the Associate Program Director for the UW Boise Internal Medicine Residency.

Assistant Professor Michael Lenaeus was selected for one of this year’s Chair of Medicine Scholars Awards. This award was established in 2013 by the Department of Medicine and is awarded annually to meritorious University of Washington Department of Medicine trainees to foster the transition of awardees to the roles of physician-scientist and principal investigator as young faculty members. Dr. Lenaeus was chosen because of his accomplishments as a young investigator, commitment to an academic research career, and commitment to his career development as a physician-scientist. 

Associate Professor Joshua Liao was recently appointed to the Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC), a group created by Congress and tasked with evaluating and providing recommendations about value-based payment models to the Secretary of the US Department Health & Human Services (HHS). PTAC members are selected by the Comptroller General of the United States based on "national recognition for their expertise in PFPMs and related delivery of care.” This appointment builds on Dr. Liao's payment and delivery innovation work, which includes service as an advisor to the RVU Update Committee (RUC)—a group that provides recommendations to Medicare about how to value physician work. 

Drs. Caroline Rhoads and John Sheffield were among the 33 UW DOM faculty that were recognized in the April 2020 issue of Seattle Magazine as Top Doctors. Top doctors are nominated by their colleagues for providing exceptional patient care.

Residents in the UW Department of Emergency Medicine selected Dr. Kyle Sears, clinical instructor, as the recipient of the 2019–20 “Outstanding Consultant of the Year – UWMC” award.

Clinical Associate Professor Frank Stackhouse was nominated for a Harborview Medical Center Spring CARES Award. These awards are given twice annually to faculty, staff, and teams that exemplify the Service Culture Guidelines. 

Clinical Instructor Chenwei Wu has been selected as the new GME Director of the Housestaff Quality & Safety Committee (HQSC). Dr. Wu attends as a hospitalist at the VA Puget Sound Health Care System (VAPSHCS) and is a former co-chair of the UW Housestaff Quality & Safety Committee (HQSC). He currently serves as Director for the Office of Transformation at VAPSHCS.

In his new role, Dr. Wu will work closely with the GME Office and Lindee Strizich, MD GME Director of Quality & Patient Safety for UWMC, to carry out the work prescribed by the ACGME’s Clinical Learning Environment Review (CLER) initiative. Dr. Wu will dedicate 0.10 FTE to his new role and will report directly to the Vice Dean for GME & DIO, Byron Joyner. His duties will include developing curriculum for patient safety and quality improvement, working with the co-chairs of the HQSC to develop and facilitate quality initiatives and share best practices across our healthcare system.