Christopher Kim, headshot

Dr. Christopher Kim, associate professor, has been appointed vice chair of the Association of American Medical Colleges’ Integrating Quality Committee Leadership for 2019–20 and chair for 2020–21. The Initiative’s mission is to lead and support AAMC members in achieving safe, high-quality, high-value health care that is driven by continuous quality improvement implemented throughout inter-professional education and clinical practice.

Dr. Kim has also been appointed associate editor of the Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient Safety.

Joshua Liao headshot

Dr. Joshua Liao, assistant professor, was recently selected for appointment to the American Medical Association RVS Update Committee (RUC). The RUC is an expert panel that influences physician payments by using the Resource-Based Relative Value scale to make recommendations to Medicare about the relative values of CPT codes. In this role, Dr. Liao will present priorities and recommendations relevant to internal medicine physicians to the committee.

Bruce Psaty, headshot

Dr. Bruce Psaty, professor, is chair of the steering committee for a newly funded NHLBI cohort study: “The Risk Underlying Rural Area Longitudinal (RURAL).” The RURAL Cohort Study will allow researchers to learn what causes the burden of heart, lung, and sleep disorders in select rural areas in Kentucky, Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana and offer clues regarding how to alleviate them. 






Source: DOM Week