Dr. Joann Elmore, professor, is the 2017 recipient of the John M. Eisenberg National Award for Career Achievement in Research from the Society of General Internal Medicine (SGIM). This award recognizes a senior member whose innovative research has changed the way we care for patients, conduct research, or educate students. It is named for the late John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, because of his unique role as researcher, mentor, and Director of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. This award is supported by the SGIM Make a Difference! Campaign, memorial contributions from Dr. Eisenberg’s colleagues and friends, and the Hess Foundation. This award will be presented to her at the 2017 SGIM Annual Meeting on Thursday, April 21.

SGIM is a member-based international association of over 3,500 of the world’s leading academic general internists, who are dedicated to improving access to care for vulnerable populations, eliminating health care disparities and enhancing medical education. The members of the Society advance the practice of medicine through their commitment to providing comprehensive, coordinated, and cost-effective care to adults, educating the next generation of outstanding physicians, and conducting cutting-edge research to improve quality of care and clinical outcomes of all patients.