Over the course of the Fall, our GIM faculty have been recognized by multiple organizations for their individual excellence in teaching, leadership, and patient care.

Most recently in November, Professor Joseph Merrill was one of seventeen faculty named an Outstanding Research Mentor by the UW School of Medicine Scholarship Committee. Nominations come from students throughout the WWAMI region.

WA ACP logoOctober saw the Washington Chapter of the American College of Physicians holding its annual meeting. During the conference, Associate Professor Molly Blackley Jackson received the Clinician-Educator Award and Clinical Instructor Anita Chopra was named the Alvin J. Thompson Internist of the Year. Professor John Sheffield won the National ACP Award for Outstanding Educator of Residents and Fellows, which recognizes an ACP member who is a distinguished educator who spends a significant amount of time teaching residents and fellows. Additionally, Associate Professor Kim O’Connor received her ACP Mastership (MACP). MACP is one of the most prestigious awards in the college, for those fellows of the college who demonstrate integrity, the utmost professional behaviors, excellence in the practice of medicine, and significant impact on the profession. MACPs represent a very small percentage of college membership. It was an eventful 2021 WACP meeting!

Also in October, Professor Douglas Paauw was announced as the 2022 recipient of the Ruth-Marie E. Fincher, MD, Service Award from the Clerkship Directors in Internal Medicine (CDIM), a national organization of leaders in internal medicine education for undergraduates. The CDIM Service Award recognizes a member who has made sustained and extraordinary contributions to the mission of CDIM through leadership and service to the association. He will receive the award during Academic Internal Medicine Week in April 2022. 

Leo Morales
Dr. Leo Morales, Professor & Chief Diversity Officer, UW School of Medicine
Finally, looking back to September, Professor Leo Morales was honored by the Washington State Medical Association with a 2021 Grassroots Advocated Award. This recognizes WSMA member efforts and activities in supporting WSMA legislative priorities and honors passionate advocates in shaping and influencing the house of medicine. 




Sources: DOM Week, Twitter