Effective July 1, 2018, Drs. Susan Merel, William Weppner, and Jennifer Wright are promoted to the rank of associate professor. Additionally, Drs. Joseph Merrill and Karin Nelson are promoted to the rank of professor.

Dr. Daniel Cabrera, clinical assistant professor, has been appointed to the newly created position of Assistant Residency Program Director and Assistant Student Clerkship Director for Diversity and Inclusion. Read more about these initiatives.

The Northwest Chapter of the Society for General Internal Medicine elected Dr. Andrea Christopher, acting instructor, as its regional president.

The American College of Physicians elected Dr. Joshua Liao, acting assistant professor, to a three-year term as a representative of the ACP’s Council of Early Career Physicians (CECP). The CECP is a national council that reports to the ACP Board of Regents on issues relating to the professional development of early career physicians and other relevant goals.

Sources: DOM Week, MD Aware